TWO STEPS FORWARD, ONE BACK

TWO STEPS FORWARD, ONE BACK

Pass the kitchen. Don’t stop.
No surfing the fridge contents.
Chocolate lingers in the air.
Sharp inhale, shiver, but move on.
Continue down the hall to the bedroom.
“Would you like some cake?”
“No thanks mom. You know I can’t!”
Safe in room. Close the door.
Sneak into kitchen that night.
Grab a plate and slice of cake.
Quick, no one to see.
Mmm, chocolate.

Published by

Whendy Schmidt

Writing has been a passion of mine since my fifth grade teacher, Mr. Grauff, talked me into entering a writing competition. Even though I did not place in the competition, I found an outlet I loved.

Leave a Reply

